A No-Fail Way to Win with Your Diet

Want to know my secret to snacking on fruits and vegetables instead of chips and cookies?  It’s pretty simple:

Out of sight, out of mind.

When I was cleaning out the basket of plastic wrap, paper lunch bags, and other sundry kitchen items I keep on top of the fridge, I discovered a half-empty bag of tortilla chips and another half-empty bag of vegetable chips.  No telling how long they had been there!  I had completely forgotten about them because they weren’t in my line of sight.

Same thing with the Girl Scout cookies I broke down and bought (I’m a sucker for Thin Mints!):  I keep them in the freezer so I forget they are there.  Even if I wanted to sneak one before dinner, they are frozen so I have to wait for them to thaw out, so I might as well just grab a piece of fruit.

The key is to put things out of sight and out of range so you can’t grab them quickly.  Our society is fueled by the mindset of, “I want this now!”  That mindset affects our food choices in a big way – fast food restaurants (I don’t have time to stop and eat right), appetizers (because you can’t wait just 5 more minutes for your entree?), and frozen dinners (because you couldn’t bring leftovers from last night??) are all examples of this “give it to me now” way of thinking.

If you have trigger foods in your house, eliminate them.  Throw them out, give them away, or put them out of sight until you can plan a time to indulge in a small amount.  (I believe it is important to eat what you want from time to time!)

This is just one of the things I’m learning on my journey toward a healthier body and healthier mind.  Hope this helps you along your journey toward your healthy goals.

One thought on “A No-Fail Way to Win with Your Diet

Leave a Reply

