Throw Away Perfectly Good Food?

In a moment of nostalgia over Christmas Break, I bought boxed cereal.  Besides Cheerios for our toddler, I haven’t purchased boxed cereal since I began eating better (about 9-10 months now).  The cereals I bought were for my aunt’s famous party mix recipe, a holiday favorite with my family.  You mix butter, Worcestershire sauce, Lawry’s seasoning salt, and lemon pepper seasoning together, then drizzle over several cups of toasted wheat, toasted corn, and toasted rice cereal, as well as pretzels, cheddar-flavored crackers, and a can of mixed nuts.

Photo by jakesglutenfreestore.com

Photo by jakesglutenfreestore.com

Do you feel blah yet?  Just writing out those ingredients makes me feel like shouting, Ugh!  Definitely NOT gluten-free.

Anyway, the recipe only used about a half a box of each kind of cereal, leaving half-empty boxes in my cabinets.  I moved them around for a couple of weeks, thinking my daughter might try them (she didn’t like them and really doesn’t even eat Cheerios any more!).  I eventually moved them to the top shelf, where they have sat for the last two months.  Last weekend, we made a big Sam’s trip and I needed more room to put extra peanut butter, coffee, yeast, and other bulk items, so I had to move those half-empty boxes.  Know where they ended up?  The top of the fridge in the basket where I keep foil, plastic wrap, and sandwich bags.

As I grew frustrated with moving the boxes out of my way each time I needed the foil or sandwich bags, I remember yelling at my husband, who offered his help, “I don’t need help, I need more room in this kitchen!”  At the time, I was too upset to realize I should just throw the cereal away.  We don’t need this food.  There’s a reason it has been sitting on the shelf, untouched, for nearly 3 months now.  I should just throw it out.

But the “Don’t Waste Food” voice in my head says, “I can’t throw it out – there’s nothing wrong with it!  It’s perfectly good food!”

I think we all know the answer to that – perfectly good for no other animal consumption.  It’s enriched, bleached, nutritionally-deficient, full of salt and sugar and all kinds of unpronounceable things…no other animal will eat this perverted form of wheat/corn/grain that humans eat and call “yummy” in all kinds of cakes, breads, and baked good.  (See my post on The Shocking Truth about Wheat.)

So join me in a victory yell for throwing out those half-empty boxes of junk.  I finally did it!  Thanks for letting me share my progress toward eating healthy, whole foods.  Good luck to you as you make progress toward your healthy goals today!

Leave a Reply

