Breaking Records!

***Personal Victory Post!***

My digital scale battery died a couple of months ago, and I neglected to replace it until just last week.  For a period of 6-8 weeks, I didn’t have the benefit of the scale to see how I was doing with eating right and exercising.  Usually, if I see the numbers start inching up, I know I’m eating too much fat, bread, or sugar, or I haven’t been exercising.  In this case, a combination of all of the above.

So when I got onto the scale last Friday night, I was worried.  I felt fat.  I felt bloated.  I felt extra jiggles in my midsection and thighs.  I’d eaten cheese and bread almost every day that week.

So what was the number?

142.2 lbs!

Let me give you some perspective.  Once upon a time, six months after I delivered my daughter, I HOPED to be 150 lbs.  150 was my goal weight when I weighed 170.  January 7th was the last time I recorded my weight – 146 lbs.  So February 28th’s weight record of 142 was AWESOME!  Especially since our routine at home has changed and I haven’t been able to exercise regularly.

Well, this morning, just when I was feeling really proud of myself, I got on the scale again, just to see the number.  I couldn’t believe it…

139.2 lbs!

I couldn’t believe I was actually under 140!  140 was definitely a dream weight of mine – if I ever hit it, great, but I wasn’t going to get my hopes up.  I haven’t been this “skinny” since college, probably.  I know I weighed a consistent 136 in high school.

According to Dr. Fuhrman, a commonly used formula for determining ideal body weight is as follows (this is from p. 24 of his Eat to Live: The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Revised Edition book):

Women: Approx. 95 lbs for the fist 5 feet of height, then 4 lbs for every inch after that.  A 5’4″ woman should ideally weigh 111 lbs.  (Remember, this is a rough guide; all body types are different so follow this loosely).  Since I am 5’9″, I should weigh 131 lbs.  The more animal products I cut out of my diet, the closer I get to that ideal weight.

Anyway, I think this just goes to show when you eat more plants, you lose more weight.  I’ve begun craving vegetables, especially green ones, and am beginning to cut out cheese from my diet.  I’ll keep you posted on how that’s going.

Good luck to you today!  Let’s keep making progress toward our healthy goals.

Leave a Reply

