The Great Animal Product Hoax

Quick! What did you have for dinner last night? How much of your dinner consisted of animal products? How much consisted of plant products?

One of the most surprising things about being on Dr. Fuhrmans’ Eat to Live plan (which, btw, is essentially “going vegan,”) was how big a part animal products played in my diet. I didn’t realize how much my diet relied on animal products – eggs, cheese, milk, beef, chicken, ham, bacon, turkey, etc. I also didn’t realize that YOU CAN GET EVERYTHING YOU NEED FROM PLANTS!*

I used to believe that people who ate a vegan diet had some sort of philosophical reason they didn’t eat animal products. I always believed for myself that God made animals for us to eat, so there was nothing wrong with eating meat. After reading his book, however, I see how the studies show the risk of lots of different kinds of cancers go up in societies that base their nutrition on animal products. Dr. Fuhrman also points out that the opposite is true: societies that eat a plant-based diet have significantly lower risks of all kinds of cancer. ‘Nuff said, for me, anyway.

Going “meatless” was not difficult for me. When I first got on his plan, I eliminated breads and meats, and saw a large amount of weight loss. It was not a difficult thing since I didn’t like how I felt after I ate meats, especially red meat like beef. Now, I will occasionally eat chicken, tuna, or fish, but in the main, I look to plants for protein – peanut butter, quinoa, and lots of different kinds of beans.

Going “vegan,” however, is a different story! I REALLY like cheese, and it is very difficult for me to cut that out. I have no trouble drinking almond milk instead of cow’s milk, and using egg substitute in place of real eggs, but I’m not quite ready to give up cheese. I do notice the extra pound or two my body retains when I eat cheese every day. I know that some day, I will be ready to say goodbye, but for now, I limit my cheese intake.

It’s all a psychological thing, eating animal products. Don’t buy into this hoax about “needing” animal products. YOU CAN GET EVERYTHING YOU NEED FROM PLANTS*! The sooner you realize you don’t NEED animal products to survive, the sooner you will be on your way to a slimmer, healthier body and mind!

*I should clarify that the only thing you can get from animal products that you can’t get from plants is Vitamin B12. Most vegans and vegetarians take a supplement for this unique vitamin. Read Dr. Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live: The Amazing Nutrient-Rich Program for Fast and Sustained Weight Loss, Revised Edition to find out more.

Leave a Reply

