Beat The Winter Blues

If you are like me, you may be suffering from mild depression right now.  You may even be diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD).  The dead of winter is difficult for me to feel happy, energized, and successful.  I have the tendency to hibernate – not leaving my house for days at a time, curled up with a good book and a hot cup of coffee. 

Obviously, hibernating does not help me reach any of my healthy goals: staying active, eating right, and maintaining good mental health.

There are some things I MUST do to feel like myself again this time of year:

1.) Reach out.  Call a friend, volunteer your time, go to church, visit a neighbor.  Doing something for someone else always makes me feel better about life.

2.) Get moving!  It’s time to get out of the recliner and exercise!  Pop in  your favorite Walk at Home DVD (I love this one – Radio Mixes: Walk to the Hits!), lace up those shoes, and get moving!  Instant stress reducer!  See my top 10 benefits of exercise here.

3.) Do something fun for YOU.  Go to a bookstore, go have coffee with a friend, paint a picture, photograph something beautiful, dig in the dirt, play with a child – whatever makes you happy (that’s not harmful to your body!).

I hope these things will help you beat these winter blues.  Let’s keep making progress toward those healthy goals!

Leave a Reply

