6 Weeks of Beans

I love the month of December because it means the holidays are here. Holidays mean time with family and that always means good food! I love baking cookies with my mom and enjoying almond tea punch with my mother-in-law.

The only thing I don’t like about the month of December is the fact our paycheck comes the week before Christmas. That’s not such a bad thing, in and of itself…it’s just that it stretches the pay period into nearly 6 weeks! In fact, there are 6 weekends in this pay period – from December 19 until January 27. Yikes!

Since I’m taking a break from eMeals for a bit, my job as SAHM is to determine how to eat comfortably for six weeks on our seemingly shoe-string food budget. The easiest solution? Beans!

Rice and beans have been endorsed by Dave Ramsey for a long time as the go-to food of choice while you are working to beat debt, and there’s a good reason: cost. They are both the cheapest thing per ounce in the entire grocery store!

I thought I’d present a few recipes we’ll be eating during this pay period. The first one is a recipe from some folks we knew in Minnesota about 15 years ago. It’s called “hot dish” up there; you may know it as a “casserole.” I think my family has shortened the recipe title to “Bean Hot Dish.”

Bean Hot Dish Recipe
1/2 lb bacon, cooked and chopped
1 lb hamburger, cooked
1 onion, chopped
1/2 Cup ketchup
1/2 Cup brown sugar
2 Tablespoons mustard
2 Tablespoons vinegar
1 15-oz. can each kidney beans, butter beans, pork and beans, and chili hot beans

Directions:
Cook the meats; combine all ingredients in a 9×13 pan. Simmer for 2 hours or more (on low in the oven).  Yield: A LOT!  Enjoy for a week (ok, I might be exaggerating a little).

My spin on this recipe:
I made it in the crockpot on high for 2 hours and it turned out great! Since I don’t like raw onions, I sautéed mine in a little bit of EVOO before I added them to the crockpot; I eliminated the hamburger meat altogether; and I also used apple cider vinegar for a sweeter flavor. Hubby liked the end result!

So that’s it. Happy eating! Let all we do be done for God, who has blessed us exceedingly abundantly more than we could have asked or imagined. ~Eph. 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

