Getting Back On The Wagon

During the month I got really serious about eating healthy and exercising, I went out to eat a couple of times one weekend.  These were places Hubby and I frequented; I got what I always got…a fried chicken sandwich, waffle fries, and a half sweet, half unsweet iced tea.  Then on Sunday, after church, I forgot to order a salad and got my usual pasta drenched in rich, calorie-laden sauce.  When I talked to my mom the next day and told her about our weekend, she laughed and said, “Did it hurt when you fell off the wagon?!”

I think a lot of us feel guilty on Monday mornings.  After a weekend of laying on the couch, watching football, and (usually) eating foods we wouldn’t normally eat during the week, we are filled with guilt.  For most people, me included, that guilt leads to an even stronger desire to “get back on the wagon” and do what is right for my body – eat healthy, exercise, and drink lots of water.

So don’t ever feel like it’s too late to do the right thing for your body.  Don’t ever feel like it won’t be worth it to eat a salad or fruit.  Even further, let’s take smoking.  I’ve heard doctors say that as soon as you stop smoking, even from the first missed cigarette, your body starts thanking you.  I don’t pretend to know everything there is to know about the effects of smoking; I only know it’s a terrible addiction that has awful consequences.

You only have one body, and you can never replace it.  God has commanded us to take care of His temple – that’s right, our bodies are where He lives, so we need to keep them clean.  I hope you will start today by making a good choice for your body!  Be blessed.  Ephesians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

