Travel and Exercise: Can They Coexist?

If you are like me, my whole exercise routine gets interrupted when we go out of town.  Even if the trip is only a 2 or 3 day trip, my body forgets that it is supposed to move and be active.

The hardest parts, of course, are sitting in a car for extended periods of time, and the often-altered schedule of staying up late, sleeping in, and eating at odd hours.  All of these things work against you when you get the urge to exercise.

When we travel, I also find myself saying things like, “Well, I don’t want to take away from this time to visit with my family member,” or, “I’m not comfortable with someone else’s equipment/living room/tv/walking video, so I’ll just wait until I’m back in my own house with my own stuff.”

These are all legitimate reasons not to exercise.  But I think we can find a compromise.  Here are some suggestions for fitting in your exercise session while traveling:

1.) Get up earlier than everyone else.  Commandeer the TV for your Walk at Home DVD or other exercise video.

2.) Invite others in your family to exercise with you!

3.) Organize a game of flag football that involves the whole family.  Or backyard volleyball or other calorie-burning activity of your choice.

4.) Go on a walk.  One of my favorite memories of visiting my grandpa’s house when I was a kid was going for a walk in the woods.  He has 88 acres of farmland in central Missouri, filled with oaks and other trees I don’t know the names of, cattle and wild turkeys.  It was always a treat to go for a walk in these woods after a big holiday meal.

5.) When traveling, if at all possible, stop every hour or so and walk the trail at the rest stop.  Or find a city park and stretch your legs for about 15 minutes.  People traveling with dogs, children/babies, or pregnant women have to do this by default, anyway, so take advantage!

On one of my walking DVD’s, Leslie Sansone says this: “Our bodies were designed for movement.  They weren’t designed to sit in a car or sit in a chair/sofa/recliner.”  Let’s get moving, America!  Pack those tennis shoes and get moving next time you’re away from home.  Blessings to you and safe travels this holiday season.  ~Eph. 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

