My Recipe Notebook

We’ve been doing eMeals for about 15 months now, and have loved it for many reasons.  (I think I wrote a whole blog post about it.)  There’s only one problem: there are so many good recipes and not a lot of repeats.

We WANT to repeat some of these great recipes!

So I had this idea to create our Most Loved Recipes.  See, when eMeals sent me each week’s menu, I printed it, punched holes in it, and put it in my food binder, which went to the store with me and I checked off the items on the shopping list as we shopped.  At home, I took the menu/instruction page out and put it on the fridge so I could read it as I cooked.  Finally, when we sunk our teeth into the recipe, hubby and I would rate the meal.  On the menu/instruction page, I would star or highlight the recipes we absolutely LOVED, the ones that were good, and the ones that we did not care to repeat.

I am also to the point where I cannot make a grocery shopping trip by myself when I have Baby Girl with me.  She is into everything and is bored by her toys before we get to the baking aisle (which is only the 2nd aisle in our ALDI)!

So to simplify my shopping trips, and to utilize the best of eMeals, I compiled our Most Loved Recipes in my recipe notebook.  I went back through the printed menus and flagged the pages with favorite recipes on them, then typed them all up.  I slapped together a Table of Contents page, and – voila! – my recipe notebook is complete with 16 main dishes, 5 desserts, 3 breakfasts, and 2 snacks.  (The main dishes all have side serving suggestions…don’t worry, we’re not skipping fruits and veggies!)  Hubby and I had fun picking out meals for this week because we knew that EVERY SINGLE MEAL would be a home run!

If you don’t have some sort of organizational method for your menu planning and meal fixing yet, I hope you’ll consider putting together your own Most Loved Recipe list.  If that’s not for you, then just stay organized!  Keep an itemized list of what you have in the freezer and fridge on a dry erase board in plain sight of the kitchen so you don’t feel overwhelmed when it’s time to fix dinner, and so that you don’t waste good food by letting it go bad.

God has given us everything we need for life…I take that to mean our food.  Be blessed.  ~Eph. 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

