Be Present.

We are in a crazy chapter of our life right now.

Guitardude is working 2 jobs AND going to grad school.  I am juggling mommy duties, church/Bible study activities, playgroup activities, and keeping Hubby fed and clothed whenever he “lands” like a bird in our little nest.

We are exhausted (see the post about Sick of Rice and Beans for why), but we decided we would get up each morning to eat breakfast together to spend some quality quiet time together.  I am amazed at how this 30-minute session has lifted my spirits and improved our communication!

One of the things I’ve noticed about our interactions, as limited as they are, is that I have to choose to be focused on what he says or needs.  It takes a conscious decision to put down the phone, quit worrying about the baby, and exist in the current time and space.  Being present requires self-discipline.

You know those people who act like they are listening to you but really aren’t?  They may be looking around the room, or fiddling with their napkin, or checking facebook on their phones instead of listening to/paying attention to you.  It makes me so sad that our loved ones choose to discard these precious moments.  We aren’t guaranteed another moment, another day, or another year.  Every conversation you have may be the last one with your friend or loved one.

Be present in your conversations.  Be aware of the need of the moment.  Listen to your friend or loved one as if they were the only person in the room.

I have to make myself apply these same principles with my husband, and now with my daughter.  There are so many times I need to do chores around the house, or maintain my blog or online business, or fix something homemade in the kitchen.  All of these activities take me away from the people I love.  Are those chores more important than my baby?  It takes self-discipline to stop what I’m doing and go play with my baby girl–sit in the floor, stack the blocks, read a book, take a picnic blanket outside and sit under the tree.  Usually when I choose to spend those special moments with her, I end up laughing and smiling (because she is a funny kid!).  What better blessing?!  “A cheerful heart is good medicine.” -Prov. 17:22 (NIV).

So be present with the people you love and care about the most.  In doing so, you will be EXCEEDINGLY ABUNDANTLY blessed!  ~Ephesians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

