The Need of the Moment

“Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.” ~Ephesians 4:29 (NASB).

I am very, very tired today. I stayed up until the wee hours last night, talking with a far-away friend. I am embarrassed to say that I called this friend to discuss a petty problem of mine, but as we worked through that problem, she began to open up and fill me in on some pretty significant things happening in her life.

A few times, throughout the course of the conversation, we each tried to ring off, but felt that there were too many things left unsaid, so we just kept talking. 3 and a half hours later, my body was finally shutting down all function and I couldn’t keep my eyes open, so we said good-bye and said we’d keep in touch. This friend is a fellow Harding alumna, so we tend to pick up right where we left off, as anyone with that “Harding connection” knows happens all the time!

I cannot tell you how blessed I was by that conversation, and I know that my friend was blessed by our conversation, as well. I may be a zombie today, but my friend needed me in that moment, so I chose to stay on the line.

Do you ever need to catch someone right after church service, but they seem to run out the back door? Have you ever felt the meal was rushed and everyone seemed to be in a hurry to get up and get on their way? These are moments; there is a need in these kinds of moments. The need to listen, the need to speak, the need to hug, the need to pray, the need to weep, the need to give a word of encouragement. Sometimes you need to receive these gestures; other times, you need to give these gestures. In fact, the verse I began with INSTRUCTS us to build each other up with our words, according to the need of the moment.

I encourage you to look for these “moments.” We’re all busy people, but are we really so busy that we can’t obey God’s instruction to us? Are we actually so busy that we can’t take a moment to speak with a lonely widower? Are we really so busy that we ignore the hurt and suffering someone is going through?  Are we so incredibly busy that we can’t take a moment to congratulate someone on their new job/achievement?

Take a moment. Be present in the moment. Give a kind word in that moment. Build someone up in that moment. You will bring grace to them and blessings upon your own head.

May God give you exceedingly abundant blessings today. ~Eph. 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

