Why I Will Never Buy Store-Bought Bread Again

As I mentioned in my post, My (Mostly) Gluten-Free Habits, I am not eating bread/grain products right now.

Ok, ok, if you want to be technical about it, I do usually find myself gravitating to the chocolate chip cookies around 8:00 p.m.

Anyway, so I am trying really hard not to include breads in my diet right now.  Which is all great and wonderful, until I go over to my friend’s house.  My friend, let’s call her The Breadmaker, just found this “awesome” book at the library: The Bread Bible, by Rose Levy Berenbaum.  (Awesome was her word, not mine, just to be clear!  Although I WOULD think it is awesome if I were still a carbitarian like I was in college!)

So my friend, The Breadmaker, tries out all these recipes.  They had us over for dinner, where she made homemade pizza, using a pizza dough recipe she found in the holy canon of bread literature.  It was very, very tasty!  (When I am in situations where the only thing to eat is made from grain, I eat because I am hungry!  So I’m not perfect, Dr. Fuhrman.)

I gave my daughter a piece of her homemade Honey Buttermilk Bread, and snuck a piece for myself.  YUMMM!  I think I must have asked for the recipe because this week, guess what I made that hubby loves?!  Yep, Honey Buttermilk Bread.

Before this recipe entered my life, when I went to the grocery store, I would make sure to get a loaf of bread on account of the sheer number of PB&J sandwiches hubby eats.  Not to mention the piece of bread with peanut butter I send him with for breakfast.  So bread is a necessity for him.  He has told me, ever since my fledgling attempts at homemade bread-making, how much he prefers the taste of homemade bread to store-bought.

Long story short, now that Honey Buttermilk and I are living under the same roof, I can honestly say I will never buy a loaf of bread from the store again.  (Right hand is raised in an oath-like fashion.)

Happy trails to you in YOUR food journey.  God can do AMAZING things with food!  Remember the story of the 5 loaves and 2 fish feeding 5000+ people??

Be blessed.  ~Eph. 3:20-21

2 thoughts on “Why I Will Never Buy Store-Bought Bread Again

Leave a Reply

