And We’re Walking…

In one of my favorite movies, Dave, Bonnie Hunt plays a White House tour guide (yes, it was made when the White House still gave tours).  She leads a group through the hallways and says, “And we’re walking, we’re walking, and we’re stopping.” I don’t know why that quote always stuck with me!

But I’ll tell you what has NOT stuck with/on me – extra weight.  I am SO glad to tell you about what has helped me shed the pregnancy weight.  It’s not rocket science, it’s not expensive, and it’s completely doable in the comfort of your own living room.

It’s called Walk at Home, by Leslie Sansone.  It has transformed my body, specifically my mid-section and legs, and has made me proud of my body again.  When you’re pregnant, and even right after you have the baby, you’re given leeway to add on some extra weight.  I did it by eating comfort foods like Oreos and brownies.  I think I gained 40 lbs when I was pregnant.  Ever since the 3rd or 4th month after she was born, I started feeling guilty about my body and how I should be slimmer by now.  But I wasn’t doing anything about it.

My mom encouraged me to get moving again; start walking.  I had a Leslie Sansone DVD, so I popped it in about once a week.  But something clicked in my head about 3 weeks ago.  On the Walk at Home DVD I am using currently (Walk Your Belly Flat), in the cool down section, Leslie talks about if you do this 3 mile walk and the bicycle exercise afterward 3, 4, or even 5 times a week, you’ll see the weight really start to come off.  At that time, I was doing maybe 1 mile, or sometimes 2 miles whenever I felt strong, and only doing it sporadically.

So, when I was sick of buying clothes that “hid” my body, I decided to do the entire DVD 3 times a week.  Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, during my daughter’s morning nap, I walk.  And WOW, has it made a HUGE difference!  By losing a few pounds and improving my posture, my self-esteem has increased, my body has more definition, my clothes fit better, my energy level has shot through the roof, and I am even thinking about running on my off-days.  Running!  Me?  That was NEVER appealing, even when I tried a season of running track in high school.  Worst semester of my life but I was in the best shape of my life, I’ll admit.

Now, 9 months after my daughter’s arrival, I am within 4 lbs of my pre-pregnancy weight!

So eat right (see my post about Eat to Live or check out Dr. Fuhrman’s website here) and exercise.  That’s the secret.  And when you exercise, TRY THESE DVD’s!

Be blessed, exceedingly abundantly more than you could ever imagine.  -Ephesians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

