My (Mostly) Gluten-Free Habits

Recently, my mom discovered this book called Eat to Livehttp://www.drfuhrman.com/weightloss/why.aspx.  It is not a “weight loss” plan, but a complete overhaul of your eating habits.  The plan (without stealing Dr. Fuhrman’s thunder) advocates eliminating all animal products from your diet for the first 6 weeks, eating only vegetables, fruits, and legumes.  Then, after that, you add in a piece of lean meat here or there.   There is a lot more to it, but that’s the “meat” of it.  🙂

Notice there is no mention of grains.  No wheat.  No flour.  No corn (which is a grain, not a vegetable!  It passes right through you, so there is no nutritional value to it, in my opinion.).

I decided to ease into the plan, and, among other things I changed, I ate only one grain product per day.  I soon realized that after eating the one grain product per day, I felt sluggish and slow.  I was lazy and my brain could not work as quickly when doing simple calculations (like what is the cost per each diaper at the Dollar General?  See that post here.)  When exercising, I often felt unmotivated and tired, not putting my full effort into it.

So I quit eating bread products (whenever possible).  No cookies, cakes, Cheezits, Cheerios, biscuits, tortilla chips, saltine crackers, etc.  I am amazed at how quickly the extra pounds have come off my mid-section and thighs, and how energetic I feel throughout the day.  I used to think I had to have a nap after lunch every day.  Now, without the post-lunch-hour laziness, I can power through the afternoon, writing extra posts for my blog, selling more items on eBay, or reading the latest book I got from the library.

My friend told me about her daughter’s gluten allergy and how my friend often eats a gluten-free diet so her daughter doesn’t feel like an outcast at the dinner table.  She told me she notices the same things – increased cognitive function and physical energy – when she omits grains.  She encouraged me once to try it, and I sorta thanked her and said, “Maybe someday.”  I just wish I had taken her advice and started this sooner.

A lot of people change the way they eat after a bad report from the doctor, or after a heart attack, or after realizing they can’t fit into certain chairs, or after realizing they can’t walk up a flight of stairs without huffing and puffing.  I didn’t have any of those things happen to me (thank you, God, for my good health).  I didn’t see the need to change the way I ate.  But I am so glad I took the challenge.  I feel empowered to keep going and to keep shedding the pounds (Right now, 9 months after my daughter was born, I am within 4 lbs of my pre-pregnancy weight!).

So when are you going to change your life by changing your eating habits?  Check out Dr. Fuhrman’s book, Eat to Live.  This has not been a paid endorsement.  These are only my opinions and observations on how God has blessed me more than I could have imagined by going (mostly) gluten-free.

Leave a Reply

