Homemade Baby Wipes

Let me tell you about one of the easiest things in the world: homemade baby wipes.  It sounds really complicated, but it’s not.  I recently read an article (can’t even remember where I saw it) about all the things store-bought baby wipes contain, and it scared me.  I don’t know if the author of that article had credible research or not, but still, I was bothered by what the article said.  Next time you are in the store, look at the ingredient list on a package of wipes…it’s quite lengthy.

Beyond that, I hate the thought of forking over $12.00+ of my grocery money every week just for things I’m going to throw away.  For a while, when Pride&Joy had a bad diaper rash, we quit using the store-bought wipes and used a warm, wet washcloth.  Sure enough, it helped her diaper rash heal more quickly, and we realized how we DIDN’T need the wipes from the store.

So here’s what we’ve started doing:

Buy 1 roll of Kleenex brand Viva! paper towels (they are softer when wet than other brands, yet still get the job done).  Cut it in half with a big knife.  (You’re going to use one half of the roll at a time.)  Remove the cardboard tube from the center of the roll.

Boil 2 cups of water on the stove.  You’re sanitizing it to keep the wipes fresh for longer.

While the water is coming to a boil, get your container ready.  It needs to be something with good lid that doesn’t leak liquids.  You will be turning it upside down, so do a quick test before you get all your stuff in there.

In the container, add 2 Tablespoons of your favorite baby shampoo/soap.  I have started using the yellow Johnson and Johnson’s baby shampoo.  Also, add 1 Tablespoon of EVOO, sunflower, safflower, or even baby oil.  I had some leftover safflower oil from some Christmas projects, so I’ve been using that up.

After your water boils, remove it from the heating element and let it cool (so it doesn’t melt your plastic container).  After it has cooled, add it to the oil and shampoo in the container.  Sit your half roll of paper towels in the container, put the lid on tight, and let the liquid absorb into the towels.  Once that has happened, flip the entire container upside down and let sit for 10 minutes. Wipes are ready to use after all the liquid has absorbed into the towels.

So how has this blessed my life?

I no longer have to worry about what is touching my baby’s skin.

I am not creating the same amount of trash I would be if I were using store-bought wipes.

I am spending a fraction of what I would be if I were buying store-bought wipes.  I think a roll of paper towels is around $2.00, and I had all the other items on hand already.

I enjoy the satisfaction of making something with my hands that is beneficial to my family.

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Jesus Christ to all generations, forever and ever.  Amen.” ~Ephesians 3:20-21 (NKJV)

One thought on “Homemade Baby Wipes

Leave a Reply

