Life’s Too Short

Monday morning, I sat down at the kitchen table with my cup of coffee and my baby girl.  That’s usually my planning time – figuring out what am I going to do with my day.  Usually Mondays are my cleaning days.  After a weekend off (I try to keep chores to M-F), I am itching to get my house clean again.  This Monday was a little different.

I saw a recipe on the Crisco container for snickerdoodles, which looked pretty good.  Then there was another one for molasses cookies.  Those looked really good.  And something just snapped in my brain – yep, I’m doing it.  I’m going to make cookies today.  Forget the housework!  Life’s too short to waste time cleaning when you could be eating cookies!

When I woke up at 4:30 to feed Pride&Joy, my brain fired off several things in my list of “Life’s Too Short Not To….”  So here’s what my semi-conscious brain wanted to share at 4:30 this morning, along with some thoughts from some of my family members:

Life’s Too Short…
-to eat gross food
-to listen to music you don’t love
-to watch terrible movies
-to read sub-standard books
-to go to bed upset
-to worry about the past
-to neglect your children
-to neglect your spiritual life
-not to take advantage of every opportunity the Lord sends your way
-not to live with purpose
-not to tell your children and spouse you love them multiple times a day
-not to fall in love and get married
-not to travel the world

What would you put on your list?  Remember what the Scripture says: “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”  James 4:14 (New International Version)

May you be exceedingly abundantly blessed in your life today. ~Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

