Leftovers

Last January, Guitardude and I decided to budget for Christmas better than we did the year before, so we set aside $50 every month for gifts, including Christmas and birthdays.

We also decided that the best use of our money would be to make everything for Christmas gifts – edible goodies like biscotti, granola, chocolate-dipped pretzels, Ritz cracker/peanut butter snacks, and peanut patty, and some bath things, like sugar scrubs and bath fizzies.

The result?  Christmas was a lot less stressful this year!  And since Pride&Joy came along the week after Thanksgiving, we were relieved that we didn’t have to get out there and fight the crowds.  Aaaanndd we had money left over!  That’s right – we came in UNDER BUDGET AT CHRISTMAS!

Anyway, as we cleaned up the Christmas stuff and packed away the tree until next year, I realized we had A LOT of excess flour, sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter, oatmeal, and oil.  (Looking back, I think I calculated incorrectly – each recipe made more than I expected.)  So what am I doing with these things?

I call it The Great Cookie Extravaganza!  Much like It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!  🙂  I made molasses cookies, chocolate chip cookies, snickerdoodles, peanut butter cookies, almond biscotti, cinnamon granola, and chocolate covered pretzels.  I wish I had kept count of how many dozens of cookies I made!  I think the itch is still in me to make some oatmeal raisin cookies, too.

I plan to give some of the cookies away to friends and Guitardude’s coworkers, freeze some, and send some to far-away family members.  I’d hate to think of how many pounds Guitardude and I would gain if we ate all these ourselves!

However, one great thing about all the extras is enjoying the “fruits of my labor.”  This morning, I am drinking a cup of coffee and munching on my homemade biscotti while watching the snow cover the ground.  The red cardinals look so pretty against the white backdrop.  Happy Tuesday, everyone!  And may the Lord bless you exceedingly abundantly more than you could have asked or imagined!  ~Ephesians 3:20

 

 

Leave a Reply

