Is It Worth It?

When I was pregnant, Guitardude and I made the decision that I would quit my job and stay home.  It was summertime, and for band directors, that doesn’t necessarily mean 3 months of rest and refreshment after a grueling school year.  There’s a marching show to write!  Music to arrange!  Drill to create!  Summer band letters to mail!  Band camp to conduct!  It’s all very exciting but also frenetic and stressful.

I found myself enjoying the silence at home.  I took my time getting around, especially as my belly became more cumbersome and I became more clumsy.  That’s when I noticed how time is extremely valuable.  How much is time worth to you?

When I went to the grocery store, I noticed how people were in such a hurry!  I understand rushing to save time and get on with the other things on your to-do list, but people bordered on being downright rude, especially with a shopping cart.

Same thing when I drove somewhere by myself when I was pregnant.  I felt the need to drive especially defensively.  I stuck to the speed limit, took extra time to look both ways one more time, and took care not to text or use the phone while I was driving, all for the sake of protecting my unborn child.  I kept seeing people driving unsafely – using the cell phone, putting on make-up, speeding unnecessarily, changing lanes without looking.  I remember thinking, “Where’s the fire, people??”

So is it worth it to hurry up and be rude?  Is it worth the “time saved” to overlook the elderly person having difficulty reaching the item on the shelf in front of you?  Is it worth the missed opportunity to spend precious time with your child or spouse, just to get that housework done?  Is it worth your life, or your child’s life, to answer that phone call or text message?

What do you do with all the time you save by hurrying and rushing around?  Is the end result worth it to you?

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!  Amen.” ~ Ephesians 3:20-21 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

