Jesus Calls Us

I’m reading through the New Testament in one of my husband’s Bibles right now.  This Bible has the NIV and The Message translations parallel to each other.  I started at the beginning (a very good place to start, sings Julie Andrews) of the New Testament, and this morning, in the blissful quiet (we’re still not taking P&J out in crowds), I read through Matthew chapter 4.

As I read about Jesus calling the fishermen to be disciples, I thought of this hymn:

Jesus calls us: o’er the tumult

Of our life’s wild, restless sea;

Day by day His sweet voice soundeth,

Saying, “Christian, follow me.”

Jesus calls us from the worship

Of the vain world’s golden store:

From each idol that would keep us,

Saying, “Christian, love me more.”

In our joys and in our sorrows,

Days of toil, and hours of ease,

Still He calls, in cares and pleasures,

“Christian, love me more than these.”

Jesus calls us: by Thy mercies,

Savior, make us hear Thy call,

Give our hearts to Thine obedience,

Serve and love Thee best of all.

From Songs of Faith and Praise, Howard Publishing Company, 1994.

Words: Cecil F. Alexander (w. 1852)

Music: William H. Jude (w. 1887)

Do you hear him calling you from your tumultuous, restless life?  Do you have your quiet time with God regularly?  Do you reflect on the verse, “Be still and know that I am God”?

I know that when I stop my pursuit of this “vain world’s golden stores,” I am much more centered and focused.  I can throw off the mental, physical, and spiritual temptations the devil puts in my way, just as Jesus did when He was tempted (Matthew 4).

I challenge you to find – no, MAKE – quiet time in your life.  In doing so, you will be able to hear Jesus calling you, and you will find the exceeding, abundant blessings God can fill your life with.  ~ Ephesians 3:20